News Maidstone has a new Mayor

Maidstone has a new Mayor image

The new Mayor of Maidstone, Cllr Gordon Newton was elected at the Maidstone Borough Council (MBC) Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday 20 May.

The AGM was held at Maidstone Town Hall when Gordon, who previously served as Deputy Mayor of Maidstone, received his chain of office from outgoing Mayor, Cllr Derek Mortimer.

Cllr Newton was born in Hardy Street Maidstone before moving to Lincolnshire where his father was serving as an aircraft engineer and armourer with the RAF.

Gordon returned to Maidstone where he met his wife Carol and they were married in Ditton. They have a daughter Elaine and three grandsons.

Gordon found employment with Wettern Group at Aylesford Sandpit working in the laboratory.  He went on to work as a development technician and then appointed as Technical Director.  After deciding to embark on a new challenge he set up his own business – The Stone Shop based at East Farleigh where he designed and manufactured family memorials. He went on to design and build many national memorials including the Falklands Memorial in Trinity Gardens. The new Mayor was first elected as an Independent Maidstone Borough Councillor in 2011 representing Downswood and Otham.

Commenting on becoming Mayor of Maidstone, Cllr Newton said:

“It will be an absolute honour to represent the Borough Council and residents as the new Mayor.  I am looking forward to meeting as many people, organisations and charities as possible from across the borough and promoting Maidstone at every opportunity.”

As part of his Mayoral duties he will be required to attend civic and ceremonial functions on behalf of the Council with preference being given to local organisations and to events within the borough. Gordon welcomes invitations from people across Maidstone. Anyone who would like to invite the Mayor to attend an event should apply on line: Maidstone Mayor

The MBC Annual Meeting also saw the Leader, Cllr David Burton announce the Cabinet of the Council for the forthcoming year as follows:

Cabinet Member for Communities, Leisure and Arts - Councillor Claudine Russell

Cabinet Member for Corporate Services - Councillor John Perry

Cabinet Member for Environmental Services - Councillor Patrik Garten

Cabinet Member for Housing and Health - Councillor Lottie Parfitt-Reid

Cabinet Member for Planning, Infrastructure and Economic Development (Deputy Leader) - Councillor Paul Cooper

Share this post

Twitter Facebook

MBC social media

Follow us on social media