News A new Leader at Maidstone Borough Council

A new Leader at Maidstone Borough Council  image

The Annual General Meeting of Maidstone Borough Council was held at Maidstone Town Hall on Saturday 18 May when Cllr Stuart Jeffery (Green and Independent Alliance (GIA)) was voted in as the new Leader of the Council.

Cllr Jeffery said: “I am honoured to have the opportunity to lead Maidstone Borough Council and will work tirelessly to try to make our Borough an even better place to live and work. I bring a new perspective and a different approach to The Council, and I truly hope that with my new cabinet we can guide us all to a good future.”

Also at the AGM, the new MBC Cabinet was introduced; members of which take key decisions and set the strategic direction of the Council. The Cabinet takes responsibility for Council services and shape and develop policies and vision. It will be led by Cllr Stuart Jeffery as the Leader of the Council.

The Cabinet Members for the forthcoming year are as follows:

Cabinet Member for Healthier, Stronger Communities - Councillor Stephen Thompson (GIA - Green)

Cabinet Member for Climate Transition and Nature Recovery - Councillor Vanessa Jones (GIA – Independent)

Cabinet Member for Planning, Policy and Management - Councillor Tony Harwood (Liberal Democrat)

Cabinet Member for Community Cohesion and Safety - Councillor David Naghi (Liberal Democrat)

Cabinet Member for Housing and Homelessness – Simon Wales (Liberal Democrat)

Cabinet Member for Environmental Services and Enforcement and Deputy Leader - Councillor Clive English (Liberal Democrat)

Cabinet Member for Corporate Resources  - Councillor Kathy Cox  (GIA - Independent)

Sign up to Maidstone Borough Council e-newsletters ‘Stay Connected’ to receive vital news and updates via email for the many services and events provided by the Council

Share this post

Twitter Facebook

MBC social media

Follow us on social media